16 Aug 2021

Andhra Pradesh Targets Setting up 33 GW Hydro Power Storage Plants

16 Aug 2021  by TNN   

The Andhra Pradesh energy department is planning to set up pumped hydro storage power projects in various districts with a total capacity of 33.24 gigawatt.

The government has identified 1.45 lakh acres in Kadapa, Kurnool, Anantapur districts for these proposed renewable energy parks. The AP energy department celebrated the 75th Independence Day on Sunday.

Energy secretary Srikant Nagulapalli said these pumped hydro storage power will improve the power supply position in the state.

“These will enable the consumers to get quality power. It will also help promote industrialisation. Andhra Pradesh has also initiated go electric campaign to promote electric vehicles in the state. The non-conventional energy development corporation of Andhra Pradesh (NREDCAP) has already established 109 charging stations. It will set up another 400 chargers across the state and along the national highways at every 25 kilometre distance,” said Srikant.

Srikant added that the state has introduced the concept of cost effective power. “It has become a role model for other states by saving Rs 2,342 crore in 2019-20 and 2020-21. The Union ministry of power has also appreciated the AP power utilities for their sustained efforts to achieve savings and reduce burden on the discoms. The power utilities completed the agriculture feeder upgradation works with Rs 1,700 crore to supply free power during day time to more than 18 lakh agriculture pump sets. The power utilities have taken up special measures to reduce interruptions in power supply and provide quality power to consumers. As a result, the interruptions reduced to 1.77 lakh in 2020-21 from three lakh in 2019-20. Similarly, the average cost of service reduced to Rs 7.18 per unit in 2020-21 against Rs 7.23 in 2019-20,” said Srikant.

Joint managing director, AP Transco, K Venkateswara Rao; director, grid and transmission, K Praveen Kumar; director, finance, K Muthupandian, Genco director (thermal) G Chandrasekhar Raju; director, finance, B Venkatesulu Reddy and other officials and employees of power utilities were present during the celebrations.

More News